Organizing new Laptop for serato

The first laptop I ever set up serato scratch live on I received so much conflicting advice from my friends who all had different set ups. Some used itunes then just hit import Itunes library others used multiple folders and a few just had one huge folder. I started using Itunes then was told it’s better to just set up your music folders and import them into serato, so I switched to that then I was told once again that itunes was the better way to go so I switched back. The problem with using itunes is if you want to delete a track completely you have to delete it from serato and then again from itunes library. You also have to make sure you uncheck the let Itunes manage yoru files option or it will move the file to a new folder if you change the track name or the artist name etc.

I am now getting ready to organize my libnrary onto my new laptop and once again I am looking into what the best set up is for serato. How do most DJs set up their serato library and what will be best for ease of use and performance.

The consensus seems to be either use Itunes or put all the files into one single folder rather than trying to organize all the files into seperate folders. The reason it’s better to have just one folder is that Serato has the ability to create crates / folders within serato and certain songs fit multiple genres and or crates. If you organize the library within serato it will allow you to have a single mp3 file exist in multiple crates without you needing to physicaly copy it into several folders. Thus one file exists rather than 2, 3 or more copies which keeps your actual library smaller than if you were to try and organize your files into crates outside of serato then bring all those folders into serato.

I have had problems with a few files in the past when I used folders and tried to import stuff from a usb stick so I ended up using Itunes and the import itunes library instead.

I’m still doing my research but the consensus seems to be that Serato has gotten better at managing your crates over the years so it’s better to do all the organizing in serato.

Leave a Reply

